by nariiki

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      ¥1,200 JPY  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    A physical object you can hold! Cool design and sleek digipack!

    Includes unlimited streaming of NEXT via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      ¥2,500 JPY or more 


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 4 nariiki releases available on Bandcamp and save 25%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of NEXT, hyōri ittai, live @ knuttel house tokyo, and CORE. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      ¥2,850 JPY or more (25% OFF)


Next 08:23
Sudoku 08:31
Dicks 05:27
Layup Laps 08:50
Horny 04:29
Oh Dori 07:57
Showcase 05:30


The songs on this album weren't written under one quick deadline, but rather slowly realized over the last 5 years. So initially I thought it would be hard to categorize them into a “concept album” or cohesive philosophy, let alone a particular song order. Listening back, I do think there is a thread that runs through almost every piece: organized patterns drifting to or from chaos. Even though I didn’t advertently plan it, at some point in almost any song there are sections of complete free musical expression flowing in between semi-rigid structures or completely written music. I don’t know why music has to go into (or return back from) chaos at all. But I’m very interested the tension that naturally forms between “beautiful" melodies / predictable grooves against “ugly” chaotic improvisations.


released November 11, 2018

Kevin McHUGH (ケビン・マキュー) piano + keyboards + leader
Ryuuichi YOSHIDA (吉田隆一) baritone sax
Akihiko ANDO (安藤暁彦) effects
Daigo WAKASUGI (若杉大悟) drums
Takumi MATSUMURA (松村拓海) flute
Kousuke OCHIAI (落合康介) bass
Kojun SATO (佐藤公淳) tenor sax + flute
Andy BEVAN (アンディ・べヴァン) alto sax + flute
Huw LLOYD (ヒュー・ロイド) contrabass clarinet
Yasuko KANEKO (金子泰子) trombone
Yoichiro KITA (北陽一郎) trumpet
Christoper HARDY (クリストファー・ハーディ) percussion

All songs written and arranged by Kevin McHugh

Recorded at Onkio Haus, Ginza, Tokyo
Engineer + mixing: Tetsu SUZUKI (鈴木 鉄也)
Mixing + mastering: Ricardo LAGOMASINO
Producers: Kevin MCHUGH & Andy BEVAN

© 2018 nariiki ・All Rights Reserved


all rights reserved



nariiki Tokyo, Japan

nariiki is an experimental collective of musicians led by pianist and composer Kevin McHugh. Members come from the Tokyo underground improv and noise community, Europe, US, Australia and beyond.

... more

live streams

contact / help

Contact nariiki

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like nariiki, you may also like: